Candidates Set for 2018 Dallas County General Election Following Tuesday’s Primary

June 6, 2018 5:35 am

Vote Dallas County

The unofficial results are in for the 2018 Dallas County primary election, setting the stage for this year’s general election in November.

In County-specific elections, incumbent District One Supervisor Brad Golightly, who ran unopposed in the Republican primary, will face off against Democratic nominee Breanna Morman, who received 73% of the vote. The District Three Supervisor Republican nominee will be incumbent Kim Chapman, who took 56% of the votes in the three-person race. While no Democrat ran for the seat in the primary, challenger Robert Greenway has promised to file as an independent in the general election. For Dallas County Attorney, Republican Chuck Sinnard and Democratic incumbent Wayne Reisetter will represent their parties in November as both ran unopposed in the primary. Additionally, Mitch Hambleton and Chad Airhart will continue their runs as County Treasurer and Recorder, respectively, as neither was opposed in the primary or will be opposed in the general election.

At the state level, the race for State Representative in District 19 will be between Republican Chris Hagenow and Democrat Gregg Gustafson, as both ran unopposed in their primary. Meanwhile, the District 20 Representative will be between Republican Ray “Bubba” Sorenson and Democrat Warren Varley. Sorenson received 68% of the votes in Dallas County, and Varley ran unopposed. In some bigger races of note, it will be Democrat Fred Hubbell and Libertarian Jake Porter challenging incumbent Republican Governor Kim Reynolds, and the ballot for U.S. Congress, District 3 will pit incumbent Republican David Young against Democrat Cindy Axne and Libertarian Bryan Jack Holder. As a reminder, the results aren’t official until the vote is canvassed by the Auditor’s Office and the Board of Supervisors. See below for a full list of candidates for the 2018 general election.

Office: Party — Candidate (incumbent)
U.S. Representative, District 3: R – David Young (I), D – Cindy Axne, L – Bryan Jack Holder
Governor: R – Kim Reynolds (I), D – Fred Hubbell, L – Jake Porter
Secretary of State: R – Paul D. Pate (I), D – Deidre DeJear
State Auditor: R – Mary Mosiman (I), D – Rob Sand
State Treasurer: D – Michael L. Fitzgerald (I)
Secretary of Agriculture: No Republican reached 35%, D – Tim Gannon
Attorney General: D – Tom Miller (I)
State Representative, District 19: R – Chris Hagenow, D – Gregg Gustafson
State Representative, District 20: R – Ray Bubba Sorensen, D – Warren Varley
Dallas County Supervisor, District 1: R — Brad Golightly (I), D — Breanna Morman
Dallas County Supervisor, District 3: R — Kim Chapman (I)
Dallas County Attorney: R — Chuck Sinnard, D — Wayne Reisetter (I)
Dallas County Treasurer: R — Mitch Hambleton (I)
Dallas County Recorder: R — Chad Airhart (I)

Comments are closed