Reminder: City and Local Option Sales Tax Election Day in Dallas County is Tuesday

November 4, 2017 5:35 am


Don’t forget: this Tuesday is Election Day, and Dallas County voters are encouraged to head to the polls to select their city’s mayor and city council representatives, as well as vote on the local option sales tax.

Every eligible voter in Dallas County can vote in this election, including those in the unincorporated areas, due to the local option sales tax measure. In Perry, the ballot includes mayoral candidate John Andorf, ward two city council candidate Dr. Randy McCaulley, and four individuals running for the open at-large seat: Harlan Den Beste, Elizabeth Hix, Vicki Klein, and Ron Leber. Adel is the only community in Dallas County who won’t be voting on the local option sales tax, because theirs is currently in place with no sunset date. However, Adel voters will have big decisions to make at the polls, as there are two candidates for mayor, incumbent Jim Peters and challenger Carter Nordman, as well as four candidates to fill two at-large seats: incumbent Rebecca Hillmer, and challengers Rob Christensen, Jodi Selby, and Bryce Smith.

The polling location for citizens of Perry is the McCreary Recreation Building, while Adel residents will vote at the public library. To hear interviews with the candidates in the contested races in Perry and Adel, listen to the “Meet the Candidates of Dallas County” program on demand at See below for a full list of candidates for each city in Dallas County, as well as polling locations. Be sure to listen to FM 99.7, AM 1310, KDLS Tuesday evening for full election results in Dallas County after the polls close.

Adel: Adel Public Library, 303 S 10th St
Mayor — Incumbent Jim Peters, Carter Nordman
At-Large City Council (2) — Incumbent Rebecca Hillmer, Rob Christensen, Jodi L. Selby, Bryce Allan Smith

Bouton: Bouton Community Center, 110 E 1st St
Mayor — No candidate filed
At-Large City Council (5) — Arlene Greiner, Camilla McCain, Linda Neville, Bob Slaughter

Dawson: Dawson Community Building, 208 S 1st St
Mayor — Breanna Gonzalez
At-Large City Council (5) — Greg Lewis, Maris Masengill, Clarence Morman, Tera Michelle Smith, Robin L. Wolfe

DeSoto: DeSoto United Methodist Church, 421 Dallas St
Mayor — Darold Butch Ostrander
At-Large City Council (3) — Incumbent Pam Bach, incumbent Emily Cramp, incumbent Mathew Sanders, Russell Baker, Terri Golightly, Robert Greenway, Ted Hansen, Steve Jones

Dexter: Zion Lutheran Church, 309 Marshall St
At-Large City Council (3) — Adrienne Howard, Timothy Morehouse

Linden: Linden Lions Club, 104 S Polk St
Mayor — No candidate filed
At-Large City Council (2) — Pamela Basquin, Wendy Lemke, June Rector

Minburn: United Methodist Church, 705 Chestnut St
Mayor — Travis Connick
At-Large City Council (3) — No candidate filed
At-Large City Council to fill vacancy (1) — No candidate filed

Perry: McCreary Community Building, 1800 Pattee St
Mayor — John D. Andorf
At-Large City Council (1) — Harlan Den Beste, Elizabeth Hix, Vicki Klein, Ron Leber
Ward 2 City Council (1) — Dr. Randy McCaulley

Redfield: Redfield American Legion, 1116 Thomas St
Mayor — Dustin Lantz
At-Large City Council (2) — Pamela J. Danielson, Heather Godwin-Pote

Comments are closed