Rams to present football awards

November 12, 2017 6:16 am

Share this Article


The Greene County High School football team will be receiving awards for the 2017 season later today. The awards recognition ceremony is only for players and coaches. Raccoon Valley Radio will announce major awards and recipients tomorrow on the Sports Pages at 7:30 a.m., 12:30 p.m., and 5:30 p.m.

The Rams were 1-8 overall and 1-6 in Class 3A District 2 under the direction of first year head coach Mitch Moore. Five players received all-district recognition that was announced earlier this week on Raccoon Valley Radio. Senior Jake Berns (linebacker), sophomore Xavier Hayes (defensive back), and junior wide receiver Trey Hinote (wide receiver) were named to the all-district first team. Junior quarterback Clint Dennhardt and sophomore lineman Tyler Miller were on the honorable mention list.

For the second straight year, Greene County played one of the more difficult schedules of the team in 3A in Iowa. Four of the nine teams the Rams played made the playoffs with two advancing to the quarterfinals, and one making it to the semifinals. The nine Greene County opponents were a combined 54-35 on the field.

Comments are closed