Baxter, Andorf Elected Officers for Perry School Board

October 10, 2017 5:35 am

Baxter Andorf Swear-in

The Perry School Board met Monday evening for their October regular meeting.

The meeting started with the swearing in of Kyle Baxter and Casey Baldwin, who were recently elected to continue on the Board. Baxter was then reelected as Board President. The Board will have a different Vice President this year, however, as Linda Andorf was chosen over Jim Lautmer. The Board also elected to keep their meetings at the same time and date, as well as maintaining the status quo in their committees and representatives.

Once the organizational part of the meeting was completed, they heard reports from the junior class prom committee and the Teacher Learning Program, as well as from Sitler Supplies regarding a lighting assessment for the District. Superintendent Clark Wicks then gave the Board a rough draft of a three-year plan for major facilities projects for them to consider. Wicks also advised them that enrollment for the year is looking to be down, which could cost the District more than $400,000 in funding next year.

In general business, the Board approved several items, including: a $500 donation to the junior class prom committee; a blanket approval of potential state qualifier t-shirts for the year; authorized account signers on all of the District’s bank accounts; additional fundraisers for the high school basketball teams; another fundraiser for the theater department; and the Limited English Proficiency allowable growth request in the amount of $88,866.10.

To learn more about the Perry School Board meeting, listen to today’s Perry Fareway Let’s Talk Dallas County program at

Comments are closed